Presentations are more important than papers: my first youtube video

During the past 5 years or so I have come to believe that presentations are actually more important than scientific papers. As a consequence, I have recently spent quite a lot of energy learning how to give better presentations. This is a truly fascinating and rewarding topic. While I find it is difficult, if not downright impossible, to master good public speaking, I’ve very much enjoyed trying to improve how I give my presentations.

Today I’d like to annouce the appearance of my first youtube video:

This is a recording of a talk I recently gave to graduate students here in Hannover. The objective of the talk was to share and channel advice I’ve received in the past years on how to give a good presentation. While I don’t claim to be especially good at giving good talks myself (the excruciating experience of watching myself on video for essentially the first time only serves to underline this!) I have learnt a great deal from other excellent speakers, and I hope that I can at least share a couple of the tips and tricks I’ve learnt.

Depending on the reception to this video it might signal a change in the way I will go about communicating our research. I’ve recently noticed that I am spending an increasing amount of time watching videos of talks at conferences, video tutorials, and miscellaneous other videos (cat videos, unboxings, etc. 🙂 ). It truly is a supremely powerful medium of communication, combining both visual and auditory modes of delivery, and, given that you can pause and skip, I have found it to often be superior to attending talks.

I am still passionate about open science, and open notebook science, and I am always contemplating better and more efficient ways to implement at least some core principles of openness. This is why this blog and my twitter account have become so neglected as of late: I’ve just found that github provides an amazingly useful, superior, and simple tool to achieve this. If you want to know what I’m doing on any given day then you can check out my activity there. (Basically all of my notes are now stored openly there.)

However, github is not the right tool for communicating and sharing ideas. Here I think video is superior, and youtube a natural platform. We’ll see.

I do hope you enjoy watching my video; any comments, suggestions, and criticisms are (actually) welcome!

Leave a Reply

